±This month in Chantilly

±Upcoming Events

±Forums - Last posts

Last 10 Forum Messages

Kids team?
Last post by KatyC23 in Chantilly Cricket Club on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:51:07

Local Tennis club
Last post by Brommers in Sport on Sep 26, 2017 at 07:56:26

The Montessori school
Last post by nivek00 in Education on Aug 21, 2017 at 22:14:02

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Education on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:30:30

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Chit Chat on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:27:08

Looking for English Nanny
Last post by benoit in Chit Chat on Aug 04, 2017 at 17:02:24

Meeting English speaking families
Last post by webmaster in Chit Chat on May 03, 2017 at 09:29:32

Meet new people in the Chantilly area!
Last post by webmaster in Living in the Chantilly Area on May 03, 2017 at 09:28:19

Meet new people
Last post by webmaster in Living in the Chantilly Area on May 03, 2017 at 09:26:13

Removal Company to and from France
Last post by leethemover in Chit Chat on Apr 01, 2017 at 16:13:08

±User Info


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: Sbeghin
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 777

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 10
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: News
02: Calendar
03: Calendar
04: News
05: Stories Archive
06: Reviews
07: Calendar
08: Calendar
09: Calendar
10: Business Directory

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

±Business Directory

[X]

±Movie Search

Search The Internet Movie Database

Enter the name of a movie, TV show, or person and then click "Go"
 
Search provided by the Internet Movie Database
For whats on in Chantilly click here

±Qs & Ps

I want to know God's thoughts... the rest are details.

-- Albert Einstein

View All Quotes / Phrases

Reviews | Local Restaurants | Karément, Le

Karément, Le

March saw a crowd descend on Le Karément in Chantilly, a restaurant beautifully placed opposite the écuries on the rue Connétable in Chantilly. This particular address has hosted a number of different restaurants over the years and Le Karément is the latest. Judging by how busy it was on this particular saturday night in March it should be there for some time!

It was a bit of a squeeze getting our table of 21 in, and I think the other diners that evening were a little shocked at seeing us all get seated, but at least the food fight didn't start until after everyone else had left! The ambiance in the dining room was good; small but not too crowded. I note that they have a large outdoor area out the back of the restaurant where apparently they have large outdoor grills to cook fish and meat in the summer months.

After our welcome apéro starters arrived with a choice between La terrine de canard au foie gras maison or
Les artichauts confits et saumon fume maison. They were good sized portions with a very good flavour; the salmon in particular elicited a great response from those who chose it. The wine was served to accompany the starter, a Marrenon chardonnay Cote du Luberon or Le clos V.D.P. de Hauterive.

Mains followed, with a choice between Le rumsteck en rosettes au poivre noir de Malabar or Le filet de poisson du marché avec tomates sechées. I had the rumsteck, and I have to admit it was the one of the best pieces of steak I have ever had in France. Rumstek does have a bit of a reputation for being a little tougher than say, fillet, but this was thick, and juicy, with not an ounce of waste left on the plate afterward. The chef came out to explain that he personally went to the meat markets in Paris to sort his meat, and he obviously knows his stuff! The fish choice too was very good - again very easy to dry out but this was beautifully moist and tasty. So far so good!

Desserts arrived as a choice between La Poire doree au gratin d’amandes or Le merinquant au chocolat, glace vanille de Madagascar. I must say the Pear didn't look too appetising but the chocolat dish was excellent. All this was rounded off with coffee or tea.

We all left at around midnight, having outlasted most of the other patrons. Feedback was very positive, and hopefully Le Karément will have gained a few more clients after serving us with an excellent meal.

Final Scores:

Food: 10/10
Ambience: 9/10
Service: 9/10

Overall, an excellent 9.5/10. (and apologies for the photos - I forgot my camera so had to use my phone!)

Title: Karément, Le
Category: Local Restaurants
Sub-Category: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Related Link: Le Karément, Chantilly
Added: Apr 15, 2011
Hits: 9865
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Security Code
Type Code
if you found this article was helpful.

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Local Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

MReviews v9.1.0 ©