±This month in Chantilly

±Upcoming Events

Thu Dec 14, 2017
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Thu Dec 21, 2017
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
Event Shortest day!
 
Sun Dec 24, 2017
Event Christmas Eve
 
Mon Dec 25, 2017
Event Christmas Day
 
Tue Dec 26, 2017
Event Boxing day
 
Thu Dec 28, 2017
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Mon Jan 01, 2018
Event New Year's Day
 
Thu Jan 04, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Sat Jan 06, 2018
Event Epiphany
 
Thu Jan 11, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Thu Jan 18, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Wed Jan 24, 2018
Event English Storytime
 
Thu Jan 25, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 

±Forums - Last posts

Last 10 Forum Messages

Chantilly Montessori - any opinions please?
Last post by nivek00 in Education on Dec 08, 2017 at 13:17:15

Rental Space for a gathering of 40???
Last post by Araineri in Living in the Chantilly Area on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:42:10

Physical Therapist
Last post by Araineri in Healthcare on Oct 28, 2017 at 10:16:04

Kids team?
Last post by KatyC23 in Chantilly Cricket Club on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:51:07

Local Tennis club
Last post by Brommers in Sport on Sep 26, 2017 at 07:56:26

The Montessori school
Last post by nivek00 in Education on Aug 21, 2017 at 22:14:02

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Education on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:30:30

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Chit Chat on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:27:08

Looking for English Nanny
Last post by benoit in Chit Chat on Aug 04, 2017 at 17:02:24

Meeting English speaking families
Last post by webmaster in Chit Chat on May 03, 2017 at 09:29:32

±User Info


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: MioUshiyama
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 780

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 10
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Calendar
02: Calendar
03: Surveys
04: Calendar
05: News
06: Calendar
07: Calendar
08: Calendar
09: Calendar
10: Calendar

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

±Business Directory

[X]

±Movie Search

Search The Internet Movie Database

Enter the name of a movie, TV show, or person and then click "Go"
 
Search provided by the Internet Movie Database
For whats on in Chantilly click here

±Qs & Ps

I want to know God's thoughts... the rest are details.

-- Albert Einstein

View All Quotes / Phrases

Reviews | Local Restaurants | Les Grands Prés

Les Grands Prés

A dark night in mid-October saw a good turnout for our latest outing - a home fixture at 'Les Grand Prés' in Vineuil Saint Firmin, just outside Chantilly. The restaurant was very quiet for a Saturday but they had set out a long table to accommodate 26 of us. One wall of the restaurant is glass which could make it feel a little cold, especially when the restaurant is not full but in fact it was only near the door that anyone felt a slight chill. It was completely dark outside so we couldn't enjoy the view, but it's a very pleasant setting in the summer and for lunch.

They may have been a little shocked at home much noise a group of expats can make as they were keen for us to get seated as soon as possible. However the tone of the level of service was set when everyone was individually offered an aperitif of their choice before we started eating - no cheap mixed cocktails here. Lists were distributed to remind everyone what they'd ordered and starters followed fairly swiftly.

Choices to begin with were a Salade gourmande, a Marbre de foie gras et confit de canard maison or a Feuillete de Saint-Jacques with a sauce safran. I had the foie gras which was served with toasted brioche. It could have been a little less dry but I had no other complaints. The salad was a very generous size and went down well whilst the saint-jacques wasn't left by anyone!

The wine was 'unlimited' - thanks to Julie's negotiating skills - and was a very pleasant 2008 Bordeaux. Each time a bottle was finished it was rapidly replaced - I would say easily the most generous supply of wine we've ever received. There was also plenty of water on the table (plus some white wine for the ladies!).

Main course came along soon after with a choice of Noisette d'agneau aux champignons des bois, Duo de lotte et ecrevisses en beuille de brick, au jus d'ecrevisses or a Cuisse de canard confite maison, sauce pleurotes. I went for the canard which was very good, if not quite as 'dry' as it should be. Bearing in mind that the restaurant managed to get 26 meals out all at once the food was very good. You might say it was not spectacular but I don't think it would stop anyone present from going back to the restaurant.

The staff at the restaurant were ever present around us ensuring nobody went unattended - they really were very good. There generosity was further demonstrated when a coupe de champagne came out for everyone after the main course - quite in addition to what we had arranged with them!

Desserts were ordered from the full restaurant menu - anything you could want. The profiteroles were good and enormous, the strawberries and cream succulent (weren't they Louiza!) and the creme brulée cooked to perfection. Coffees and teas followed, along with, for those that wanted, a digestif of choice - or two!

We eventually all filed out of the restaurant around midnight - pretty well sated. The staff could not have been more welcoming. The food was above average - you certainly wouldn't have been disappointed with anything delivered. With all the extras offered we still all only paid our 40€ per head!

Ratings for the evening:
Food – 6/10
Ambience – 7/10
Service: 10/10

Overall quality of evening 8/10 - I'd have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

Title: Les Grands Prés
Category: Local Restaurants
Sub-Category: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Added: Oct 30, 2010
Hits: 8910
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Security Code
Type Code
if you found this article was helpful.

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Local Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

MReviews v9.1.0 ©