±This month in Chantilly

±Upcoming Events

Sat Aug 26, 2017
Event CCC vs Nomads
 
Sun Sep 17, 2017
Event CCC vs Vagabonds
 
Sun Sep 24, 2017
Event CCC vs Royal Brussels CC
 

±Forums - Last posts

Last 10 Forum Messages

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Education on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:30:30

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Chit Chat on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:27:08

Looking for English Nanny
Last post by benoit in Chit Chat on Aug 04, 2017 at 17:02:24

Meeting English speaking families
Last post by webmaster in Chit Chat on May 03, 2017 at 09:29:32

Meet new people in the Chantilly area!
Last post by webmaster in Living in the Chantilly Area on May 03, 2017 at 09:28:19

Meet new people
Last post by webmaster in Living in the Chantilly Area on May 03, 2017 at 09:26:13

Removal Company to and from France
Last post by leethemover in Chit Chat on Apr 01, 2017 at 16:13:08

chantilly house for sale, downtown
Last post by webmaster in Living in the Chantilly Area on Mar 18, 2017 at 12:37:58

New Member Request
Last post by Akkie6665 in Chantilly Cricket Club on Mar 17, 2017 at 11:57:46

Dog Sitters
Last post by Briandetroit in Living in the Chantilly Area on Mar 06, 2017 at 15:09:28

±User Info


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: Aymeric
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 771

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 10
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Calendar
02: Reviews
03: Calendar
04: Calendar
05: Calendar
06: Calendar
07: Calendar
08: Calendar
09: Galerie Photos
10: Calendar

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

±Latest Classified

±Business Directory

[X]

±Movie Search

Search The Internet Movie Database

Enter the name of a movie, TV show, or person and then click "Go"
 
Search provided by the Internet Movie Database
For whats on in Chantilly click here

±Qs & Ps

Mets-y un peu d'huile de coude

-- Give it some elbow grease

View All Quotes / Phrases

Reviews | Local Restaurants | Les Grands Prés

Les Grands Prés

A dark night in mid-October saw a good turnout for our latest outing - a home fixture at 'Les Grand Prés' in Vineuil Saint Firmin, just outside Chantilly. The restaurant was very quiet for a Saturday but they had set out a long table to accommodate 26 of us. One wall of the restaurant is glass which could make it feel a little cold, especially when the restaurant is not full but in fact it was only near the door that anyone felt a slight chill. It was completely dark outside so we couldn't enjoy the view, but it's a very pleasant setting in the summer and for lunch.

They may have been a little shocked at home much noise a group of expats can make as they were keen for us to get seated as soon as possible. However the tone of the level of service was set when everyone was individually offered an aperitif of their choice before we started eating - no cheap mixed cocktails here. Lists were distributed to remind everyone what they'd ordered and starters followed fairly swiftly.

Choices to begin with were a Salade gourmande, a Marbre de foie gras et confit de canard maison or a Feuillete de Saint-Jacques with a sauce safran. I had the foie gras which was served with toasted brioche. It could have been a little less dry but I had no other complaints. The salad was a very generous size and went down well whilst the saint-jacques wasn't left by anyone!

The wine was 'unlimited' - thanks to Julie's negotiating skills - and was a very pleasant 2008 Bordeaux. Each time a bottle was finished it was rapidly replaced - I would say easily the most generous supply of wine we've ever received. There was also plenty of water on the table (plus some white wine for the ladies!).

Main course came along soon after with a choice of Noisette d'agneau aux champignons des bois, Duo de lotte et ecrevisses en beuille de brick, au jus d'ecrevisses or a Cuisse de canard confite maison, sauce pleurotes. I went for the canard which was very good, if not quite as 'dry' as it should be. Bearing in mind that the restaurant managed to get 26 meals out all at once the food was very good. You might say it was not spectacular but I don't think it would stop anyone present from going back to the restaurant.

The staff at the restaurant were ever present around us ensuring nobody went unattended - they really were very good. There generosity was further demonstrated when a coupe de champagne came out for everyone after the main course - quite in addition to what we had arranged with them!

Desserts were ordered from the full restaurant menu - anything you could want. The profiteroles were good and enormous, the strawberries and cream succulent (weren't they Louiza!) and the creme brulée cooked to perfection. Coffees and teas followed, along with, for those that wanted, a digestif of choice - or two!

We eventually all filed out of the restaurant around midnight - pretty well sated. The staff could not have been more welcoming. The food was above average - you certainly wouldn't have been disappointed with anything delivered. With all the extras offered we still all only paid our 40€ per head!

Ratings for the evening:
Food – 6/10
Ambience – 7/10
Service: 10/10

Overall quality of evening 8/10 - I'd have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

Title: Les Grands Prés
Category: Local Restaurants
Sub-Category: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Added: Oct 30, 2010
Hits: 8691
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Security Code
Type Code
if you found this article was helpful.

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Local Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

MReviews v9.1.0 ©