±This month in Chantilly

±Forums - Last posts

10 Derniers Messages du Forum

Moving to Chantilly - Need to find HOME!
Dernier post par webmaster dans Living in the Chantilly Area le Mar 26, 2018 de 12:23:43

English babysitter on wednesday afternoons
Dernier post par opse dans Kids le Déc 21, 2017 de 18:51:50

Rental Space for a gathering of 40???
Dernier post par Araineri dans Living in the Chantilly Area le Oct 29, 2017 de 12:42:10

Physical Therapist
Dernier post par Araineri dans Healthcare le Oct 28, 2017 de 10:16:04

Kids team?
Dernier post par KatyC23 dans Chantilly Cricket Club le Sep 29, 2017 de 12:51:07

Local Tennis club
Dernier post par Brommers dans Sport le Sep 26, 2017 de 07:56:26

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Dernier post par Aymeric dans Education le Aou 15, 2017 de 16:30:30

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Dernier post par Aymeric dans Chit Chat le Aou 15, 2017 de 16:27:08

Looking for English Nanny
Dernier post par benoit dans Chit Chat le Aou 04, 2017 de 17:02:24

Meeting English speaking families
Dernier post par webmaster dans Chit Chat le Mai 03, 2017 de 09:29:32

±User Info


Bienvenue Anonyme

Surnom/Pseudo
Mot de Passe

Inscription:
Dernier: slaanesh
Nouveau Aujourd'hui: 0
Nouveau Hier: 0
Total: 786

En Ligne:
Membres: 0
Visiteurs: 10
Total: 10
Qui est oû:
 Visiteurs:
01: Listings
02: Calendar
03: Calendar
04: Reviews
05: Calendar
06: Photo Gallery
07: Calendar
08: Calendar
09: Calendar
10: Photo Gallery

Staff en Ligne:

Pas de membre du staff en ligne!

±Business Directory

[X]

±Qs & Ps

Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.

-- Mark Twain

View All Quotes / Phrases

Comptes rendus | Distant Restaurants | Trois Canards, Les

Trois Canards, Les

Les Trois Canards is situated right in the centre of Ognon, opposite the church. It's a beuatiful little village that literally has nothing in it in terms of commerce other than this restaurant. We were lucky to get a table big enough to fit us all as it is a very popular restaurant. The owners were very accommodating and genuinely seemed to pleased to have us there - although I'm not sure the other diners were so pleased!

The traditional menu at Les Trois Canards is a menu dégustation - a tasting menu. We were given a very varied couple of choices from each of three courses, along with cheese, wine and coffees for a very reasonable 38€.

The starters were chosen from a home-made foie gras, a carpaccio of pear, scallops and red tuna, a terrine of goat's cheese with smoked duck or a smoked salmon. The foie gras was the most popular and was a very good choice - very creamy and it definitely tasted 'home-made' rather than shop bought. The carpaccio was also very popular with everyone commenting on the excellent fusion of different flavours.

Mains were chosen from roasted cod, a pork with sage dish, duck or a mushroom stuffed guinea fowl. The duck proved the most popular choice; a leg stewed in red wine along with a wing in a spicy bread crust (nice translation eh?). I had the guinea fowl which was superb - tender and moist which is fairly difficult to do. The pork was also very well received.

We were offered a welcome drink on arrival which always helps to settle every down, followed by a choice of some very acceptable white and red wine. It seemed that we had been allocated a certain number of bottles as the owner obviously did not believe that we'd need 2 bottles between 3 of us as arranged. It didn't take long to get through the initial allocation and it did take some coercion to get the rest but it did arrive in the end. It was a pretty good wine too - although maybe I tried a little too hard to drink my share as I can't remember exactly what it was!

After the main course the cheese trolley came round - with a superb selection of cheeses; exactly as a cheese board should be. I do remember a fine 'tête de moine' cheese which I hadn't tried before which did a very good impression of a strong cheddar - praise indeed!

There followed a selection of desserts, the highlight of which was the 'nuclear' green colours of 'Rachel's selection' of desserts! I never knew that colour existed outside of a cartoon but I'm presuming it wasn't poisonous as it all tasted pretty good! A couple of brave souls attempted the Grand Marnier soufflé and wished they hadn't - I know it's a difficult dessert to get right and more so when you're trying to get 28 desserts out at once but on this occasion they didn't get it right - shame.

Coffee followed along with the bill then it was time to negotiate the snow / armenian brandy at Susan and Fred's. I think everyone agreed that a good time was had by all.

In summary Les Trois Canards has always been known as a restaurant offering a high quality of food but often with fustrating levels of service. On this occasion not only was the food of excellent quality but the service was excellent too. It's not easy to serve a group of 28 people at the same time and the staff did a great job. Whilst the wine may have been a little slow I think that is probably more a function of not realising the different capacities of the non-French and French appetites! I think I can safely say that of the 10 restaurants that Home & Away have visited, this was probably the best quality and value so far.

Title: Trois Canards, Les
Catégorie: Distant Restaurants
Sous-Catégorie: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Added: Mar 03, 2010
Hits: 9633
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Code de Sécurité
Retapez le Code
if you found this article was helpful.

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Distant Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

MReviews v9.1.0 ©