±This month in Chantilly

±Upcoming Events

Thu Dec 14, 2017
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Thu Dec 21, 2017
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
Event Shortest day!
 
Sun Dec 24, 2017
Event Christmas Eve
 
Mon Dec 25, 2017
Event Christmas Day
 
Tue Dec 26, 2017
Event Boxing day
 
Thu Dec 28, 2017
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Mon Jan 01, 2018
Event New Year's Day
 
Thu Jan 04, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Sat Jan 06, 2018
Event Epiphany
 
Thu Jan 11, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Thu Jan 18, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Wed Jan 24, 2018
Event English Storytime
 

±Forums - Last posts

Last 10 Forum Messages

Chantilly Montessori - any opinions please?
Last post by nivek00 in Education on Dec 08, 2017 at 13:17:15

Rental Space for a gathering of 40???
Last post by Araineri in Living in the Chantilly Area on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:42:10

Physical Therapist
Last post by Araineri in Healthcare on Oct 28, 2017 at 10:16:04

Kids team?
Last post by KatyC23 in Chantilly Cricket Club on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:51:07

Local Tennis club
Last post by Brommers in Sport on Sep 26, 2017 at 07:56:26

The Montessori school
Last post by nivek00 in Education on Aug 21, 2017 at 22:14:02

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Education on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:30:30

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Chit Chat on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:27:08

Looking for English Nanny
Last post by benoit in Chit Chat on Aug 04, 2017 at 17:02:24

Meeting English speaking families
Last post by webmaster in Chit Chat on May 03, 2017 at 09:29:32

±User Info


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: MioUshiyama
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 780

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 10
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Calendar
02: Photo Gallery
03: Calendar
04: Calendar
05: Calendar
06: Forums
07: Calendar
08: Calendar
09: Calendar
10: Calendar

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

±Business Directory

[X]

±Movie Search

Search The Internet Movie Database

Enter the name of a movie, TV show, or person and then click "Go"
 
Search provided by the Internet Movie Database
For whats on in Chantilly click here

±Qs & Ps

Build a system that even a fool can use, and only a fool will use it.

-- Murphy

View All Quotes / Phrases

Reviews | Distant Restaurants | Trois Canards, Les

Trois Canards, Les

Les Trois Canards is situated right in the centre of Ognon, opposite the church. It's a beuatiful little village that literally has nothing in it in terms of commerce other than this restaurant. We were lucky to get a table big enough to fit us all as it is a very popular restaurant. The owners were very accommodating and genuinely seemed to pleased to have us there - although I'm not sure the other diners were so pleased!

The traditional menu at Les Trois Canards is a menu dégustation - a tasting menu. We were given a very varied couple of choices from each of three courses, along with cheese, wine and coffees for a very reasonable 38€.

The starters were chosen from a home-made foie gras, a carpaccio of pear, scallops and red tuna, a terrine of goat's cheese with smoked duck or a smoked salmon. The foie gras was the most popular and was a very good choice - very creamy and it definitely tasted 'home-made' rather than shop bought. The carpaccio was also very popular with everyone commenting on the excellent fusion of different flavours.

Mains were chosen from roasted cod, a pork with sage dish, duck or a mushroom stuffed guinea fowl. The duck proved the most popular choice; a leg stewed in red wine along with a wing in a spicy bread crust (nice translation eh?). I had the guinea fowl which was superb - tender and moist which is fairly difficult to do. The pork was also very well received.

We were offered a welcome drink on arrival which always helps to settle every down, followed by a choice of some very acceptable white and red wine. It seemed that we had been allocated a certain number of bottles as the owner obviously did not believe that we'd need 2 bottles between 3 of us as arranged. It didn't take long to get through the initial allocation and it did take some coercion to get the rest but it did arrive in the end. It was a pretty good wine too - although maybe I tried a little too hard to drink my share as I can't remember exactly what it was!

After the main course the cheese trolley came round - with a superb selection of cheeses; exactly as a cheese board should be. I do remember a fine 'tête de moine' cheese which I hadn't tried before which did a very good impression of a strong cheddar - praise indeed!

There followed a selection of desserts, the highlight of which was the 'nuclear' green colours of 'Rachel's selection' of desserts! I never knew that colour existed outside of a cartoon but I'm presuming it wasn't poisonous as it all tasted pretty good! A couple of brave souls attempted the Grand Marnier soufflé and wished they hadn't - I know it's a difficult dessert to get right and more so when you're trying to get 28 desserts out at once but on this occasion they didn't get it right - shame.

Coffee followed along with the bill then it was time to negotiate the snow / armenian brandy at Susan and Fred's. I think everyone agreed that a good time was had by all.

In summary Les Trois Canards has always been known as a restaurant offering a high quality of food but often with fustrating levels of service. On this occasion not only was the food of excellent quality but the service was excellent too. It's not easy to serve a group of 28 people at the same time and the staff did a great job. Whilst the wine may have been a little slow I think that is probably more a function of not realising the different capacities of the non-French and French appetites! I think I can safely say that of the 10 restaurants that Home & Away have visited, this was probably the best quality and value so far.

Title: Trois Canards, Les
Category: Distant Restaurants
Sub-Category: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Added: Mar 03, 2010
Hits: 9414
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Security Code
Type Code
if you found this article was helpful.

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Distant Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

MReviews v9.1.0 ©