±This month in Chantilly

±Forums - Last posts

Last 10 Forum Messages

Carte de sejour
Last post by sasieb in Legal & Finance on Jul 27, 2018 at 12:28:44

Richmond Language Institute cherche professeurs
Last post by Richmond in Language on Jun 22, 2018 at 10:02:42

Moving to Chantilly - Need to find HOME!
Last post by webmaster in Living in the Chantilly Area on Mar 26, 2018 at 12:23:43

English babysitter on wednesday afternoons
Last post by opse in Kids on Dec 21, 2017 at 18:51:50

Rental Space for a gathering of 40???
Last post by Araineri in Living in the Chantilly Area on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:42:10

Physical Therapist
Last post by Araineri in Healthcare on Oct 28, 2017 at 10:16:04

Kids team?
Last post by KatyC23 in Chantilly Cricket Club on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:51:07

Local Tennis club
Last post by Brommers in Sport on Sep 26, 2017 at 07:56:26

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Education on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:30:30

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Chit Chat on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:27:08

±User Info


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: Natkins
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 789

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 10
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Upcoming Cycle training
02: Calendar
03: Calendar
04: Listings
05: Forums
06: Home
07: Home
08: Photo Gallery
09: Quotes & Phrases
10: Photo Gallery

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

±Latest Classified

±Business Directory

[X]

±Movie Search

Search The Internet Movie Database

Enter the name of a movie, TV show, or person and then click "Go"
 
Search provided by the Internet Movie Database
For whats on in Chantilly click here

±Qs & Ps

Appuie sur le champignon

-- Step on it (Press on the mushroom)

View All Quotes / Phrases

Reviews | Distant Restaurants | Auberge de Puiseaux

Auberge de Puiseaux

The smallest Home and Away so far was held at the Auberge de Puiseaux in Puiseaux le Hauberger or Puiseaux the Hamburger as we nicknamed the village. It is a tiny family run Auberge in quite a pretty village just off the N1 and truly well worth a visit. It has a lovely atmosphere with quiet music playing. The tables are beautifully presented with starched white table clothes and pretty crockery.

The cost was €45.00. This as usual included an aperatif, three courses and coffee. There was a choice of three starters, three main courses and three puddings all of which looked absolutely delicious. The owner had requested to know everyones choices the day before – what was quite amusing was that three out of the four men chose exactly the same menu.

Upon arrival we were each given a kir and shortly afterwards our first course arrived. Six of the eight of us had the duo of foie gras . It was foie gras pate and pan fried fresh foie with a scattering of balsamic vinegar. Vanessa reliably informed me that her tomato and mozzarella tarte was well worth a try and Annie’s saumon seche looked scrummy. To our relief everything was going according to plan so far!!!

For the main course there was a choice of canette (which we now know is duckling thanks to Susan), rumsteak brochette or filet de daurade. The canette was served on a bed of mushrooms with fresh herbs and huile de noix. It was cooked exactly how each person requested and I for one would highly recommend it. The rumsteak was made into brochette by spearing it on rosemary. It arrived sitting on a bed of delicious looking mashed potato and surrounded by huge cloves of garlic. Infact luckily for all of us everyone was given loads of garlic. Again this was cooked exactly how everyone had requested and there were certainly no complaints. The filet of daurade appeared not looking like a fish, much to Vannesa’s relief, this was accompanied by provençal vegetables. Again she said this was a good choice.

For pudding we had a choice of moelleux du chocolat chaud, craquelin de fruits rouge or peche Melba; No one chose the peche melba so I am sorry not to be able to fill you in on that but the chocolate was to die for and the fruits rouge a welcome break after quite a filling but delicious dinner. Every one of the above dishes was presented very artisticly yet another bravo to the chef.

We were beautifully looked after by what looked like two young teenagers. They did an amazing job taking care of eight very loud English/Canadiens. Although the restaurant was not full it had several other guests including a family with two young children. To my embarassment they behaved quite superbly throughout the evening (infact much better than us) without the aid of DS’s. It really put us to shame. They tucked into two enormous steaks and barely uttered a word all night.

Not surprising we were the last to leave after a couple of rounds of cognac for the non drivers. If any of you want to take guests to a restaurant away from the Chantilly area but not go all the way into Paris I would seriously give this restaurant a double thumbs up. Go and give it a try. Oh and if you want to know what three of the four men ordered it was the foie gras; rumsteak and chocolate – quelle surprise!!!!

So, scores on the doors:#
Food: 9.5/10
Ambience: 8/10
Overall: 9/10

Auberge de Puiseaux
11 Grand Rue
60540 Puiseaux le Hauberger
03-44-74-04-28

Julia Jaques - June 30th 2009

Title: Auberge de Puiseaux
Category: Distant Restaurants
Sub-Category: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Added: Jul 02, 2009
Hits: 14163
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Security Code
Type Code
if you found this article was helpful.

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Distant Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

MReviews v9.1.0 ©