±This month in Chantilly

±Upcoming Events

Tue Jun 19, 2018
Event Concert Din & Tonics
 
Thu Jun 21, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
Event Longest Day!
 
Thu Jun 28, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Sat Jun 30, 2018
Event CCC vs SAC
 
Sun Jul 01, 2018
Event CANADA DAY!
 
Wed Jul 04, 2018
Event Independence Day (USA)
 
Thu Jul 05, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Sat Jul 07, 2018
Event CCC vs Thoiry
 
Thu Jul 12, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Sat Jul 14, 2018
Event Bastille Day
 
Thu Jul 19, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Sun Jul 22, 2018
Event SAC vs CCC
 
Thu Jul 26, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 
Thu Aug 02, 2018
Event Mothers and Others is back for 2017
 

±Forums - Last posts

Last 10 Forum Messages

Moving to Chantilly - Need to find HOME!
Last post by webmaster in Living in the Chantilly Area on Mar 26, 2018 at 12:23:43

English babysitter on wednesday afternoons
Last post by opse in Kids on Dec 21, 2017 at 18:51:50

Rental Space for a gathering of 40???
Last post by Araineri in Living in the Chantilly Area on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:42:10

Physical Therapist
Last post by Araineri in Healthcare on Oct 28, 2017 at 10:16:04

Kids team?
Last post by KatyC23 in Chantilly Cricket Club on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:51:07

Local Tennis club
Last post by Brommers in Sport on Sep 26, 2017 at 07:56:26

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Education on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:30:30

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Last post by Aymeric in Chit Chat on Aug 15, 2017 at 16:27:08

Looking for English Nanny
Last post by benoit in Chit Chat on Aug 04, 2017 at 17:02:24

Meeting English speaking families
Last post by webmaster in Chit Chat on May 03, 2017 at 09:29:32

±User Info


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: Natkins
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 789

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 10
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Reviews
02: Photo Gallery
03: Business Directory
04: FAQ - Help
05: Forums
06: Calendar
07: Reviews
08: Calendar
09: The English Shop
10: Calendar

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

±Latest Classified

±Business Directory

[X]

±Movie Search

Search The Internet Movie Database

Enter the name of a movie, TV show, or person and then click "Go"
 
Search provided by the Internet Movie Database
For whats on in Chantilly click here

±Qs & Ps

Facts are stupid things.

-- Ronald Reagan

View All Quotes / Phrases

Reviews | Local Restaurants | Vertugadin, Le

Vertugadin, Le

For its most recent home outing, the Home and Away Dining Society truly excelled itself! Twenty eight of us enjoyed a very sociable, albeit cosy evening at 'Le Vertugadin' restaurant in Chantilly. Based on previous experience, the original reservation was made for 12 to 18 people; by the Tuesday preceding the evening, Adrian told me we were at 24; by the Friday, we were 28 with a possibility of 30! Unfortunately, weather conditions in the Oise were not going to allow us to sit in the garden terrace on the Saturday night. Therefore we hastily rearranged the seating organisation in the private room to squeeze in all the extra bodies, hence the rather cosy feeling!

The méteo did allow us however to start with our apéritif in the garden and for us to mingle and meet some of our newer members. This was clearly a success as it was nearly 21h00 before we managed to get everyone inside and seated! Ordering main course and desserts was not too difficult and on our table, the restaurant owner was very jovial. Despite having ordered our entrées in advance, service was quite slow, probably because the restaurant itself was very busy. When they finally arrived, presentation of the tomato/cheese was disappointing, although it tasted fine. I heard good reports about the fish entrée and the mushrooms/snails. Main courses were a challenge to serve, particularly the Tajine de Poisson with the huge ceramic hats on, which however tasted good. The duck and steak seemed to go down well too. Being extremely busy on all fronts, the staff were quite slow bringing extra wine and water, although the levels of conversation and merriment in the room would not have really indicated that anything was amiss!

When we finally got to desserts, the strawberries and cream looked divine, the profiteroles were wicked and the restaurant owner had great fun setting alight the apple tarts with Calvados. For those of us able to stay past the bewitching hour of midnight, there was a coffee and sweet to see us on our way.

To conclude, I never thought it would be quite so stressful organising a group dinner, however from the comments I received at the end of the evening, it was well worth the effort. Despite some of the slowness in serving, I think it was a menu offering good value for money and that an enjoyable time was had by all.

For food I would give 8/10; general ambiance 8.5/10; overall 9/10 (ie what we made of the evening!)

Caroline Smith, June 1st , 2009.

Title: Vertugadin, Le
Category: Local Restaurants
Sub-Category: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Related Link: Le Vertugadin
Added: Jun 02, 2009
Hits: 16023
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Security Code
Type Code
if you found this article was helpful.

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Local Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

Vertugadin, Le
Posted by Geoffrey on Oct 04, 2009
My Score:
I am glad that Caroline and company found this restaurant good since we went there with four English friends in September and were mightily disappointed. Unlike you, It was a quiet evening but like you,the service was slow (the waiters never got round to serving our wine) and the food was of average quality to say the least. I chose as a starter a salad that involved shrimps that were clearly frozen. My main course was Quails; note the "s" since you normally get at least two wheras I got one very very small one together with pureed potatoes obviously out of a packet. The bill was in keeping with the establishment's reputation and therefore the meal was very poor value for money. For one of the supposed best restaurants in Chantilly, this is a place we will NOT be going back to !!!

MReviews v9.1.0 ©