±This month in Chantilly

±Upcoming Events

Thu May 30, 2019
Event The Lazy Writers Club in Senlis
 
Thu Jun 06, 2019
Event The Lazy Writers Club in Senlis
 
Thu Jun 13, 2019
Event The Lazy Writers Club in Senlis
 
Sun Jun 16, 2019
Event Fathers' Day
 
Thu Jun 20, 2019
Event The Lazy Writers Club in Senlis
 
Fri Jun 21, 2019
Event Longest Day!
 
Thu Jun 27, 2019
Event The Lazy Writers Club in Senlis
 
Mon Jul 01, 2019
Event CANADA DAY!
 
Thu Jul 04, 2019
Event Independence Day (USA)
Event The Lazy Writers Club in Senlis
 

±Forums - Last posts

Last 10 Forum Messages

English Schools Senlis Area
Last post by asorrentino in Education on Jan 28, 2019 at 11:03:48

Café Polyglotte - Chambly
Last post by delitalang in Chit Chat on Jan 04, 2019 at 14:33:20

Carte de sejour
Last post by sasieb in Legal & Finance on Jul 27, 2018 at 12:28:44

Richmond Language Institute cherche professeurs
Last post by Richmond in Language on Jun 22, 2018 at 10:02:42

Moving to Chantilly - Need to find HOME!
Last post by webmaster in Living in the Chantilly Area on Mar 26, 2018 at 12:23:43

English babysitter on wednesday afternoons
Last post by opse in Kids on Dec 21, 2017 at 18:51:50

Rental Space for a gathering of 40???
Last post by Araineri in Living in the Chantilly Area on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:42:10

Physical Therapist
Last post by Araineri in Healthcare on Oct 28, 2017 at 10:16:04

Kids team?
Last post by KatyC23 in Chantilly Cricket Club on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:51:07

Local Tennis club
Last post by Brommers in Sport on Sep 26, 2017 at 07:56:26

±User Info


Welcome Anonymous

Nickname
Password

Membership:
Latest: MorganClarke
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 797

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 10
Total: 10
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: News
02: Home
03: Quotes & Phrases
04: Calendar
05: Business Directory
06: Calendar
07: Calendar
08: Accueil
09: Calendar
10: Calendar

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

±Business Directory

[X]

±Movie Search

Search The Internet Movie Database

Enter the name of a movie, TV show, or person and then click "Go"
 
Search provided by the Internet Movie Database
For whats on in Chantilly click here

±Qs & Ps

I haven't failed, I've found 10,000 ways that don't work.

-- Thomas Edison (1847-1931)

View All Quotes / Phrases

Reviews | Local Restaurants | Vertugadin, Le

Vertugadin, Le

For its most recent home outing, the Home and Away Dining Society truly excelled itself! Twenty eight of us enjoyed a very sociable, albeit cosy evening at 'Le Vertugadin' restaurant in Chantilly. Based on previous experience, the original reservation was made for 12 to 18 people; by the Tuesday preceding the evening, Adrian told me we were at 24; by the Friday, we were 28 with a possibility of 30! Unfortunately, weather conditions in the Oise were not going to allow us to sit in the garden terrace on the Saturday night. Therefore we hastily rearranged the seating organisation in the private room to squeeze in all the extra bodies, hence the rather cosy feeling!

The méteo did allow us however to start with our apéritif in the garden and for us to mingle and meet some of our newer members. This was clearly a success as it was nearly 21h00 before we managed to get everyone inside and seated! Ordering main course and desserts was not too difficult and on our table, the restaurant owner was very jovial. Despite having ordered our entrées in advance, service was quite slow, probably because the restaurant itself was very busy. When they finally arrived, presentation of the tomato/cheese was disappointing, although it tasted fine. I heard good reports about the fish entrée and the mushrooms/snails. Main courses were a challenge to serve, particularly the Tajine de Poisson with the huge ceramic hats on, which however tasted good. The duck and steak seemed to go down well too. Being extremely busy on all fronts, the staff were quite slow bringing extra wine and water, although the levels of conversation and merriment in the room would not have really indicated that anything was amiss!

When we finally got to desserts, the strawberries and cream looked divine, the profiteroles were wicked and the restaurant owner had great fun setting alight the apple tarts with Calvados. For those of us able to stay past the bewitching hour of midnight, there was a coffee and sweet to see us on our way.

To conclude, I never thought it would be quite so stressful organising a group dinner, however from the comments I received at the end of the evening, it was well worth the effort. Despite some of the slowness in serving, I think it was a menu offering good value for money and that an enjoyable time was had by all.

For food I would give 8/10; general ambiance 8.5/10; overall 9/10 (ie what we made of the evening!)

Caroline Smith, June 1st , 2009.

Title: Vertugadin, Le
Category: Local Restaurants
Sub-Category: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Related Link: Le Vertugadin
Added: Jun 02, 2009
Hits: 16690
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Security Code
Type Code
if you found this article was helpful.

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Local Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

Vertugadin, Le
Posted by Geoffrey on Oct 04, 2009
My Score:
I am glad that Caroline and company found this restaurant good since we went there with four English friends in September and were mightily disappointed. Unlike you, It was a quiet evening but like you,the service was slow (the waiters never got round to serving our wine) and the food was of average quality to say the least. I chose as a starter a salad that involved shrimps that were clearly frozen. My main course was Quails; note the "s" since you normally get at least two wheras I got one very very small one together with pureed potatoes obviously out of a packet. The bill was in keeping with the establishment's reputation and therefore the meal was very poor value for money. For one of the supposed best restaurants in Chantilly, this is a place we will NOT be going back to !!!

MReviews v9.1.0 ©