±This month in Chantilly

±Forums - Last posts

10 Derniers Messages du Forum

Carte de sejour
Dernier post par sasieb dans Legal & Finance le Jui 27, 2018 de 12:28:44

Richmond Language Institute cherche professeurs
Dernier post par Richmond dans Language le Jui 22, 2018 de 10:02:42

Moving to Chantilly - Need to find HOME!
Dernier post par webmaster dans Living in the Chantilly Area le Mar 26, 2018 de 12:23:43

English babysitter on wednesday afternoons
Dernier post par opse dans Kids le Déc 21, 2017 de 18:51:50

Rental Space for a gathering of 40???
Dernier post par Araineri dans Living in the Chantilly Area le Oct 29, 2017 de 12:42:10

Physical Therapist
Dernier post par Araineri dans Healthcare le Oct 28, 2017 de 10:16:04

Kids team?
Dernier post par KatyC23 dans Chantilly Cricket Club le Sep 29, 2017 de 12:51:07

Local Tennis club
Dernier post par Brommers dans Sport le Sep 26, 2017 de 07:56:26

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Dernier post par Aymeric dans Education le Aou 15, 2017 de 16:30:30

Looking for an English speaking nanny
Dernier post par Aymeric dans Chit Chat le Aou 15, 2017 de 16:27:08

±User Info


Bienvenue Anonyme

Surnom/Pseudo
Mot de Passe

Inscription:
Dernier: Natkins
Nouveau Aujourd'hui: 0
Nouveau Hier: 0
Total: 789

En Ligne:
Membres: 0
Visiteurs: 10
Total: 10
Qui est oû:
 Visiteurs:
01: News
02: News
03: Calendar
04: Calendar
05: For Sale/Wanted/Swap
06: Calendar
07: Calendar
08: Listings
09: Calendar
10: Calendar

Staff en Ligne:

Pas de membre du staff en ligne!

±Latest Classified

±Business Directory

[X]

±Qs & Ps

If it jams - force it. If it breaks, it needed replacing anyway.

-- Murphy

View All Quotes / Phrases

Comptes rendus | Distant Restaurants

Bonne Franquette, La


We recently visited La Bonne Franquette in a group as the inaugural dinner of the 'Home and Away Dining Society'. As such this review is as much about the night out as it is about the restaurant itself. Souris

La Bonne Franquette is situated right in the heart of Montmartre - on the corner of the rue des Saules and rue Saint Rustique. As such there is obviously a bit of a lack of parking - we spent the best part of half an hour driving up and down the hill before finding somewhere to (double) park. Once there the location adds a great deal to the venue - it's almost always busy, the streets around it bustling with tourists and visitors.

The disadvantage of being in such a touristy location means that the restaurant doesn't have to try too hard to impress with it's food - and to be fair the overall quality of the food was pretty average. More later...

The restaurant itself is split into a couple of rooms. The front area is a typical bistro setting, pictured above, but going through to the back of the restaurant takes you through to the 'entertainment' area, with seating for about 120. This is where we sat with our table for 10.

We all chose the 3-course, €25 menu. This consisted of a prawn salad (lots of salad, light on the prawns) or 6 snails (which smelled better than they tasted, as always!). Main courses chosen where Boeuf Bourgignon (large chunks of meat) or Canard a l'orange. This latter dish was very tender and actually pretty tasty if a little sweet! Dessert was either a coconut ice cream (with chocolate) or a black cherry mousse.

The wine list was a lot bigger than the food menu - a good selection of French wines all divided into regions. The Sancerre was pretty good and I was impressed by the Saint Jacques. I imagine if you were looking to find some good wines on the list you would be able to.

But, the main reason I think anyone would go back to this restaurant was for the entertainment. I can obviously only comment on the one night's show but I would have thought most evenings were similar. For our entertainment we had what could best be described as a Mick Jagger in a Kadgagoogoo wig singing Robin Gibb/Elvis numbers! Tchouta was totally entertaining if a little loud, and very good value for money. It's not something you could ever listen to away from that venue and I don't think you'd appreciate if you weren't with a group of friends with whom you could have a laugh. He did really try though and he helped to create a party atmosphere at our table.

So, would we go back? Probably not. The food was ok - solid tourist fare but nothing special, maybe 5 out of 10. The location was superb, 8 out of 10. The atmosphere overall though was a good 7 out of 10. If you're planning a works do, or getting a crowd out for a birthday then I think you'd enjoy it.

PS Thanks to all who came on our inauguaral dinner. If you'd be interested in joining the Home and Away Dining Society please get in touch - we plan on visiting a different restaurant each month... Très heureux

Title: Bonne Franquette, La
Catégorie: Distant Restaurants
Sous-Catégorie: French Restaurants
Author: webmaster
Related Link: La Bonne Franquette, Paris
Added: Oct 21, 2008
Hits: 25605
Score:
Options: Send to a Friend Print This Review

Code de Sécurité
Retapez le Code
if you found this article was helpful.

[ Back to Reviews Index | Back to Distant Restaurants Index | Post Comment ]

MReviews v9.1.0 ©